Foundation Stage - Nursery and Reception (ages 3-5)

For the children starting school it is an exciting and sometimes tiring day, but we do pace the activities to cater for their energy levels, with periods of learning inside and outside.

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is divided into seven areas of learning:

Prime Areas
Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Physical Development
Communication and Language
Specific Areas
Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design

In the Nursery there is no homework, but we do strongly encourage you to read with your child every night. Each child will be given a Reading Record Book that you should use for daily contact with the class teacher.

In Reception, children are set weekly homework which reflects what has been covered during the week. Reading Scheme books will be sent home on a regular basis once a readiness for learning to read has been established.